Halejian tabbed ROY

Freshman guard Sarah Halejian (Wyckoff, N.J.) was named the Ivy League’s Rookie of the Year after helping lead the Bulldogs to a 16-win season, matching the most victories in a season in the program’s history.

Halejian is just the fourth Yale player to earn Ivy League Rookie of the Year honors. The other three Yale Rookies of the Year are Melissa Colborne (2006-07), Katy Grubbs, (1995-96) and Mary Kalich (1991-92).

Halejian played in all 28 games for the Bulldogs, starting 22 of them, including starts in the final 20 games of the season. In Ivy League play, she averaged 8.3 points, 2.7 rebounds and 1.9 assists.  She ended the season with six Ivy League Rookie of the Week awards, tying the Yale record for the most Rookie of the Week awards in a season by a single player.

“It was a great first year and I already realize how lucky I am to be a part of the Yale basketball program,” Halejian said. “It was awesome to play under our coaching staff and with such a great group of teammates. We will only continue to grow from here, and I really look forward to the next three years. As for the honor, I have my coaches and teammates to thank for making me better and pushing me every day. I am also so grateful for my family and many other supporters who followed me and the team all season. I’m honored to receive this accolade and look forward to contributing more to the program in the future.”

Additional commentary

